Held Sunday of each festival, the Red Bicycle Awards mark the closing of VIFF, where nominees from eligible screening sections compete for the Quartermaster Award, which recognizes excellence in feature filmmaking, and the Burton Award, which recognizes excellence in short filmmaking. Individual nominees also compete for: 

  • Best Screenplay
  • Best Director
  • Best Actor (inclusive of all sexes and genders)
  • Best Supporting Actor (inclusive of all sexes and genders)
  • Best Cinematography
  • Best Editing
  • Best Original Music
  • Best Production Design
  • Best Costume Design
  • Best Stunt

Narrative Features are considered for all Red Bicycle Awards, while Documentary Features are only considered for the Quartermaster Award, Best Director, Best Cinematography, and Best Editing. Narrative Shorts and Documentary Shorts compete only for the Burton Award. Consideration does equate to actual nomination for the Red Bicycle Awards, which is determined solely by Vashon Film Institute’s Executive Team.

Non-jury awards include the Audience Award for favorite feature and short film, as voted by VIFF’s patrons. Films in all screening sections are eligible for the Audience Award.




Burton Award

Closing Dynasty

Audience Award for Best Feature Film

Boom: A Film About the Sonics

Audience Award for Best Short Film


Best Screenplay

Paris Zarcilla Raging Grace

Best Director

Paris Zarcilla Raging Grace

Best Actor

Lola Campbell Scrapper

Best Supporting Actor

Romina D’Ugo I Like Movies

Best Cinematography

Molly Manning Walker Scrapper

Best Original Music

Paloma Peñarrubia Tobacco Barns

Best Production Design

Claudia Dall’Orso I Like Movies


Each year, VIFF selects 5 motion picture professionals to serve on its jury. Juror obligations include reviewing all of the films selected by VFI to screen at VIFF and submitting votes necessary to determine the relevant Red Bicycle Award winners. Prior to juror voting, nominations for awards are determined by VFI.


Cameron Jebo


Ali Richey


Steve Swadling


Amber Tozer

Author & Comedian

Dallas Dupree Young